In ReadyNAS OS 6.4.1 and above, the layout of the shares page has been updated to make it easier to view the configuration of shares at a glance and to adjust permissions for common protocols more easily.
Below are some frequently asked questions that may help with this change.
- What does the new shares page look like?
Here is an example.

- What are the changes that I need to be aware of?
Instead of the grid view on previous ReadyNAS OS versions, each share is now listed in a row, as can be seen in the screenshot above. For each share, the following information is presented:
- Name: the name of the share.
- Protocols: the file-sharing protocols enabled on the share. See FAQ 5 for further information.
- Snapshots: the number of snapshots present on the share.
- Available: the remaining capacity available for use by this share. This is determined by the remaining volume capacity, or, the remaining quota allocation if a quota is specified.
- Consumed: the capacity consumed by this share.
- Permissions: the access permissions set on the share. See FAQ 3 for further information.
Hovering the mouse over a share presents two icons, a plus (+) icon and a gear icon:

Clicking the plus (+) icon opens the permissions window from where permissions for common protocols (SMB, AFP, FTP, HTTP) can be changed - see FAQ 4 for further information. Clicking the gear icon opens a menu from where Browse, Snapshot, Delete and Settings can be chosen. The settings option available in this menu opens the advanced share settings window.
- How do I interpret the permissions that are displayed?
Each share displays a list of the users and groups with access to the share. Those with read only access are listed with a gray outline, and, those with read/write access are listed with a blue outline. Below are some examples.
Permissions example 3.1: Anonymous access enabled. This means that the share is open and no authentication is necessary. This should be used with caution and only where necessary.

Permissions example 3.2: Read/write access for Anna, Bill and admin.Read only access for Charles and Diane.

Permissions example 3.3: Read/write access for Anna, Bill and admin. Read only access for Charles, Diane and Elizabeth. Note the +2 indicating that there are two additional users/groups specified. Hover the mouse over, or, go to the permissions window to view the full list.

- How do I change the permissions on a share?
Hover the mouse over the share and click the plus (+) icon:

The Permissions window displays:

- To add additional permissions, use the drop down menus at the bottom to specify the user or group, the protocol and the access level. Then press Append.
- To adjust existing permissions, use the Access drop down beside the user/group to change between Read/Write and Read Only. If the user/group has settings for multiple protocols, click on the arrow at the left to expand the view for each protocol. Each change is applied immediately. Press Close to finish.
- To remove permissions for a user/group, click the X to the right of that entry. The change is applied immediately. Press Close to finish.
- In the permissions window, AFP isn't displayed in the protocol drop down menu. What is wrong?
Check that the AFP protocol is enabled on the share. See FAQ # 7.
- In the permissions window, SMB isn't displayed in the protocol drop down menu. What is wrong?
Check that the SMB protocol is enabled on the share. See FAQ # 7.
- How do I enable or disable protocols (e.g. SMB, AFP, FTP) on a share?
Hover the mouse over the share. Click the gear icon, then click Settings. In the Network Access tab, each protocol can be set to on or off. If using SMB and AFP, refer to recommendation for using AFP and SMB in the same environment.
- I prefer the old method of setting permissions which was available in previous OS 6 versions. Can I use that instead?
Yes. Hover the mouse over the share, click the gear icon and then choose Settings. This will open the advanced share settings window which is the same as on ReadyNAS OS version 6.4.0 and older.
- Can I use the new permissions window to adjust permissions when in Active Directory mode?
No. The new permissions window is only for use in local user mode. To configure simple, share level permissions in Active Directory mode, use the Network Access tab in the advanced share settings window. To configure advanced permissions using ACLs, refer to Setting Active Directory folder permissions.
- Where is the option to create a new iSCSI LUN?
This has been moved to the iSCSI page.