Enterprise AV Home WiFi Mobile Wifi Support Shop Deals

Starting in ReadyNAS OS 6.5, NETGEAR streamlines the snapshot recover, restore, roll back, clone, and delete user interface. The UI enhancements include: the Recover Files screen replaces the Timeline functionality and is more easily accessed through the new Snapshots button.

 

To recover and restore a snapshot:

  1. Log in to your ReadyNAS Admin Page.
  2. Click Shares > Shares.
  3. Click Snapshots.
  4. (Optional) Use the Go To date picker, located at the top right corner of the Recover Files screen, to filter snapshots by year, month, or day.
  5. Right-click the snapshot that you want to recover.
  6. Left-click Browse.
  7. Right-click the folder you want to restore.
  8. Left-click Restore.
    You are prompted to confirm the restore command.
  9. Click Yes.

 

To rollback a snapshot:

  1. Log in to your ReadyNAS Admin Page.
  2. Click Shares > Shares.
  3. Click Snapshots.
  4. (Optional) Use the Go To date picker, located at the top right corner of the Recover Files screen, to filter snapshots by year, month, or day.
  5. Right-click the snapshot that you want to rollback.
  6. Left-click Rollback.
  7. Read the data loss warning that displays.
  8. Type DELETE DATA into the dialogue box and click Rollback.

 

To clone a snapshot:

  1. Log in to your ReadyNAS Admin Page.
  2. Click Shares > Shares.
  3. Click Snapshots.
  4. (Optional) Use the Go To date picker, located at the top right corner of the Recover Files screen, to filter snapshots by year, month, or day.
  5. Right-click the snapshot that you want to clone.
  6. Click Clone.
    You are prompted to create a share for the cloned snapshot.
  7. Type a unique share name for your cloned snapshot and click Apply.

 

To delete a snapshot:

  1. Log in to your ReadyNAS Admin Page.
  2. Click Shares > Shares.
  3. Click Snapshots.
  4. (Optional) Use the Go To date picker, located at the top right corner of the Recover Files screen, to filter snapshots by year, month, or day.
  5. Right-click the snapshot that you want to delete.
  6. Click Delete.
    You are prompted to confirm the delete command.
  7. Click Yes.

 

To learn more about snapshot basics, visit How does my ReadyNAS OS 6 storage system use snapshots to protect my data?.

Last Updated:07/07/2025 | Article ID: 30669

Our team is here to help!

Phone
Chat
Email