Enterprise AV Home WiFi Mobile Wifi Support Shop Deals

Not what you're looking for? Return to the ReadyNAS Share and Permission FAQ.

For each individual share, you can configure the default access rights to files and folders.

Change Default Access Rights to Files and Folders

By default, owners, groups, and anyone else with access to the share has read/write access to all files and folders on the share.

To change the default access rights to files and folders on an individual share:

  1. Select Shares > Shares.

    A list of shares and LUNs on each volume displays.

  2. Select the share that you want to configure and click the gear icon.
  3. From the pop-up menu that displays, select Settings.

    The share settings display in a pop-up screen.

  4. Click the File Access tab on the pop-up screen.
  5. Configure the file and folder access rights as explained in the following table:

     

    Item Setting
    Folder Owner You can assign a single user or the administrator as the folder owner. By default, the folder owner is set to guest.
    Folder Group You can assign a single group, a single user, or the administrator as the folder group. By default, the folder group is set to guest.
    Folder Owner Rights Permissions granted to the folder owner. Select one of the check boxes:
    • No box selected. The folder owner does not have access rights to the folder.
    • Read Only. The folder owner has read-only access to the folder.
    • Read/Write. The folder owner has read/write access to the folder. This is the default setting.
    Folder Group Rights Permissions granted to members of the same group as the owner’s primary group. Select one of the check boxes:
    • No box selected. Members of the group have no access to folders that are owned by a member of the group.
    • Read Only. Members of the group have read-only access to folders that are owned by a member of the group.
    • Read/Write. Members of the group have read/write access to folders that are owned by a member of the group. This is the default setting.
    Folder Everyone Rights Permissions granted to users who are not the folder owner and not members of the folder group. Select one of the check boxes:
    • No box selected. No one outside the folder group has access rights to the folder.
    • Read Only. Anyone outside folder group has read-only access to the folder.
    • Read/Write. Anyone outside the folder group has read/write access to the folder. This is the default setting.

To restore the default file and folder access rights on an individual shared folder:

  1. Select Shares > Shares.

    A list of shares and LUNs on each volume displays.

  2. Select the share that you want to configure and click the gear icon.
  3. From the pop-up menu that displays, select Settings.

    The shared folder settings display in a pop-up screen.

  4. Click the File Access tab on the pop-up screen.
  5. Click the Reset tab.
  6. Click the Reset permissions button.

    The default access rights are restored. Owners, groups, and anyone else with access to the shared folder gains read/write access to all files and folders on the shared folder.

Last Updated:07/08/2025 | Article ID: 26496

This article applies to:

Recently Viewed Articles

    Read this article in another language:

    • United States (English)
    • 日本 (日本語)

    Read this article in another language:

    Our team is here to help!

    Phone
    Chat
    Email