The following alerts might appear on your ReadyDATA unit when you enable deduplication (dedupe for short) on shares or iSCSI LUNs:
DDT size surpassed the recommended maximum value. That can cause significant appliance performance decrease.
To prevent deduplication overhead from adversely affecting system performance, deduplication has been disabled on all allowed shares and LUNs on the following volumes: Vol1
These alerts appear when the dedupe table (DDT), which is held in memory, grows to such a large size that it can impact system performance. When this threshold is reached, the system automatically disables dedupe to prevent the DDT from growing any larger. If this condition occurs, dedupe should not be re-enabled unless a read cache SSD drive is first added to the system.
Note: Disabling dedupe at this point does not free up the resources already claimed by the existing DDT. Rather, disabling dedupe only prevents the DDT from growing any larger.