Enterprise AV Home WiFi Mobile Wifi Support Shop Deals

Through the local admin page, you can use Local Users mode to manually manage group accounts on your ReadyNAS storage system.

Not what you're looking for? Return to the ReadyNAS Share and Permission FAQ.

To edit a group:

  1. Select Accounts > Groups.
  2. From the list of groups, select the group that you want to edit.
  3. From the pop-up menu that displays, select Settings. Image
  4. In the pop-up screen that displays, edit the settings for the group as needed.
    Image

    Use these guidelines to determine a user's group membership status:

    • If the check box next to a user is selected and can be cleared, that user is a secondary member of the group.
    • If the check box next to a user is selected and cannot be cleared, that user is a primary member of the group.
    • If the check box next to a user is clear, that user is not a primary or secondary member of the group.
  5. (Optional) To change the group name, enter a new name in the Name field.
  6. (Optional) To add a user to this group as secondary member, select the check box next to the user's name.
  7. (Optional) To remove a user as a secondary member of this group, clear the check box next to the user's name.

    Note: You cannot edit primary group membership from this screen. To edit primary group membership, go to the settings of a user and change the primary group membership in the Groups tab.

  8. Click the Apply button. Your changes are saved.
Last Updated:07/07/2025 | Article ID: 23157

This article applies to:

Recently Viewed Articles

    Read this article in another language:

    • United States (English)
    • 日本 (日本語)

    Read this article in another language:

    Our team is here to help!

    Phone
    Chat
    Email