Enterprise AV Home WiFi Mobile Wifi Support Shop Deals

You can use Dashboard to create jobs to back up data from computers or devices onto a ReadyNAS system that is on the same network.

Image

You can also back up files from your ReadyNAS system onto a local device as shown in the following figure.

Image

By default, all backup jobs are scheduled to run every day. You can edit these settings after you create each backup job. For more information, see Edit a Backup Job on page 80.

The first few times you back up data, it is a good practice to perform the backup manually. With a manual backup, you can make sure that access is granted to the remote backup source or destination, and determine how long the backup takes to run. You need to know how long the backup job takes so that you can allow enough time in the schedule for it to complete before you schedule the next backup. You can run a manual backup after you create each backup job.

Backup and recovery jobs using Time Machine use different procedures.

To back up data onto a network-attached device, follow these steps:

  1. Select Configure > Backup and click the New Backup Job icon.

    Image

    The New Backup Job dialog box displays.

    Image
     
  2. In the Name field, enter a name for the new backup job.

    The name you choose can have a maximum of 255 characters.
     
  3. In the Source drop-down menu, select the source that has the data that you want to back up.
  4. From the Destination drop-down menu, select a backup destination.

    Depending on how your ReadyNAS system is configured, these options vary.
     
  5. Click the Create button.

    The job is added to the menu of backup jobs in the left pane.

    If you selected a remote source, complete the fields in the Backup Source section.

    Image
     
  6. If necessary, enter the remote host name, the folder path, and any login credentials required to access that path.

    If you select a backup destination that requires a path, use a forward slash (/) to separate directories, for example:

    /<share name>/<folder name>

    Do not use a backslash () in paths.

    If you select a USB device that is connected to your ReadyNAS system, you can leave the path blank to put the data at the top level of the USB device's directory. You can enter a folder path to place the backed-up data in a specific folder.
     
  7. (Optional) Click the Test Connection button to determine if your ReadyNAS system can access the remote destination.

    In the left pane, the status LED icon for this job changes from gray to red or green to indicate test results. Red indicates connection failure and green indicates connection success.
     
  8. (Optional) In the Backup Schedule section, adjust the new job schedule.

    If you clear the Enabled check box, the job does not run automatically. Instead, you must manually start this backup job. For more information, see the How do I manually start a backup job on my Duo v2 or NV+ v2? support article
    .
    If you select the Enabled check box, use the drop-down menus and check boxes to set a schedule for when this backup job automatically runs.
     
  9. (Optional) In the Backup Options section, adjust option settings:
     
    1. From the Schedule full backup drop-down menu, select how frequently you want a full backup to be run.
    2. From the On completion send drop-down menu, select what type of logs to send when the backup job finishes.

      You can send a log that lists only errors during backup, full logs consisting of file listings (can be large), or status and errors (status refers to completion status). Log email messages are restricted to approximately 10,000 lines.

      For more information, see the How do I view backup logs on my Duo v2 or NV+ v2? support article.
       
    3. (Optional) Select the Remove the contents of the backup destination check box.

      Selecting this check box erases the destination path contents before the backup is performed, which NETGEAR does not recommend for recovery jobs.

      WARNING! When using this option, ensure that you have correctly identified your backup source and backup destination. If you reverse them, you might permanently delete your source files. NETGEAR recommends that you do not enable this option unless your destination device is very low on storage space.

      Best practice is to experiment with this option using a test share to make sure that you understand how it works.
       
    4. (Optional) Select the After backup is complete, change ownership of files in the backup destination check box.

      Your ReadyNAS system attempts to maintain original file ownership whenever possible. However, you can automatically change the ownership of the backed-up files to match the ownership of the share. This allows anyone who can access the backup share to have full access to the backed-up files.
       
  10. Click the Apply button.

    Your settings are saved and this job displays in the left pane.

    If you cleared the Enable button in Step 8, you must manually start the job. If you selected the Enable check box in Step 8, this backup job will run according to the schedule you established.
Last Updated:07/07/2025 | Article ID: 21040

Our team is here to help!

Phone
Chat
Email