Enterprise AV Home WiFi Mobile Wifi Support Shop Deals

Remote Management is a feature that lets you connect to your router or gateway over the Internet when you are not at home. Most people do not need to use this feature, and it is turned off by default. We recommend that you leave the Remote Management feature turned off whenever you are not using it.

The Remote Management feature in the Nighthawk app is different from the Remote Management feature in your router or gateway’s web user interface. You do not need to turn off the Remote Management feature in the Nighthawk app.

To turn off Remote Management on your NETGEAR router or gateway:

  1. Log in to your router or gateway by following these instructions: How do I log in to my NETGEAR home router?.
  2. After logging in, select the ADVANCED tab.
  3. Click Advanced Setup.
  4. Click Remote Management.
    Note: On some products, this option is called Web Services Management.
    • If the check box for Turn Remote Management On is selected, click the checkbox to deselect it and click Apply to save your changes.
      Remote Management is now turned off.
    • If the check box for Turn Remote Management On is not selected, click Cancel to leave the page.
      Remote Management is already turned off. You do not need to take any further action.
Last Updated:07/07/2025 | Article ID: 000061995

This article applies to:

Recently Viewed Articles

    Read this article in another language:

    • United States (English)
    • 日本 (日本語)

    Read this article in another language:

    Our team is here to help!

    Phone
    Chat
    Email