Enterprise AV Home WiFi Mobile Wifi Support Shop Deals

This article describes how to back up data from a ReadyNAS OS 6 system to another ReadyNAS OS 6 system using the built-in backup job manager.

Not what you're looking for? Return to the ReadyNAS Backup FAQ

OS 6 systems are ReadyNAS that run software version 6.x.x (for example 6.3.5).

In this example, the source of the backup is the primary ReadyNAS, called MainNAS:
Image
 MainNAS has four shares on it (Documents, Movies, Music and Photos), each with some data inside:
Image
The destination of the backup is the secondary ReadyNAS, called BackupNAS:
Image
BackupNAS has four shares created on it, with the same names as the shares on MainNAS. Currently, these shares are empty:
Image

In this article, we create the backup job on MainNAS and push the data to BackupNAS using the Rsync protocol. Creating the backup job on MainNAS means that when the backup runs, a temporary snapshot will be taken of the source share, giving a consistent backup.

Here we demonstrate how to backup the Documents share. The process can be repeated for any other shares.

  1. On the admin page of BackupNAS, go to System - Settings. Enable the Rsync service if it is not already enabled:
    Image
  2. On BackupNAS, go to Shares. Click on the gear icon beside the Documents share and then press Settings:
    Image
  3. Click the Network Access tab, then click RSYNC. Set the toggle box to On and set Default Access to Read/Write:
    Image
    Optional: For stricter security, add the IP address of MainNAS to the HOSTS section.
  4. Click OK.
  5. On the admin page of MainNAS, go to Backups and press Add Backup:
    Image
  6. Enter a name for the backup job:
    Image
  7. In the leftmost side of the backup configuration settings, choose Local and then press Browse:
    Image
  8. Navigate through the directory structure of the ReadyNAS and select the folder that you want to backup. Then press Select:
    Image
  9. In the rightmost side of the backup configuration settings, click Remote. In the Host field, enter the IP address of BackupNAS. In theProtocol field, choose remote: Rsync Server. In the Share field, enter the name of the share on BackupNAS (Documents in this case). Leave the Login and Password fields empty. Press Test Connection to verify that the settings are valid.
    Image
  10. Press Next.
  11. At the next screen, set the schedule as needed:
    Image
    Some common examples are below. Days in blue are enabled; days in gray are disabled.

    • To run the backup job Monday to Friday after 7PM, the required configuration is:
      • Backup Every: 24 hours
      • Time: 19:05 and 20:05
      • Repeat: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
    • To run the backup job every Saturday night after midnight, the required configuration is:
      • Backup Every: 24 hours
      • Time: 00:05 and 01:05
      • Repeat: Sat

    Note that the time that the job is scheduled to run between is used only to specify the time window in which the job is allowed to begin. It does not mean that the job will be stopped if it is still running when that time window expires. Once the job begins, it will continue to run until it is successful or interrupted. 

  12. Choose to remove the contents of the backup destination before full backup. This should be used with caution.
    Image

  13. Press Finish.

  14. The backup button prompt appears. Choose Yes if you want this backup job to run when the backup button on the front of the ReadyNAS device is pressed (note this applies to ReadyNAS desktop units only and does not apply to ReadyNAS rackmount units).
    Image

  15. Click on the newly created backup job and press Settings:
    Image
  16. Go to the Source tab and enter a forward slash in the Path field. Then press OK.
     Image
    This will ensure that the contents of the source share are placed directly at the root of the destination share, instead of embedding the source share at the root of the destination share.
  17. Run the backup job by doing any of the following:
    - Wait for the defined scheduled time to arrive.
    - Press the backup button on the front of the ReadyNAS device (only applies to systems with a backup button when a job is assigned to the backup button).
    - Run it manually by clicking the gear icon on the job and pressing Start:
    Image

Note: By default, files which are deleted from the source ReadyNAS will remain on the destination ReadyNAS. If you want to change this behaviour, follow the steps below to enable the option Remove deleted files on target. This should be used with caution since it will purge files on the destination that were deleted on the source.

  1. Go to the settings of the backup job.
  2. Go to the Advanced tab.
  3. Enable the Remove deleted files on target checkbox.
  4. Click Apply.
Last Updated:07/08/2025 | Article ID: 29741

Our team is here to help!

Phone
Chat
Email