To allow remote users access to shares on your ReadyNAS storage system using ReadyCLOUD, you must perform the following tasks:
- Turn on ReadyCLOUD
- Invite ReadyCLOUD users
- Configure share access for ReadyCLOUD users
To remove share access for a ReadyCLOUD user, see To remove access of a ReadyCLOUD user from a shared folder.
To turn on ReadyCLOUD:
- Log in to the ReadyNAS Admin Page and select the Cloud tab.
- Set the ReadyCLOUD On/Off slider to On.
- When prompted, enter your MyNETGEAR user name and password.
- Click the Join button.
Your ReadyNAS is now joined to ReadyCLOUD. The account that you used is the ReadyCLOUD owner (signified by the icon marked in red below).

To invite a remote user:
Remote users must have MyNETGEAR accounts to access your ReadyNAS storage system. If you invite users who do not have MyNETGEAR accounts, they receive an invitation to register. You must use the ReadyCLOUD portal to invite users.
- Visit the ReadyCLOUD portal at https://readycloud.netgear.com.
- Log in with your MyNETGEAR account.
- Hover your mouse over the share you want to invite a user to.
- Click the blue icon with the + sign.

- Decide how much access to grant to the user:
If you want the invited user to be able to view and download files from your ReadyNAS storage system, but not to modify them, select Share as Link.
If you want the invited user to be able to add, change, and delete files on your ReadyNAS storage system, select Full Folder Access. - Click Next.
- Enter the email address of the MyNETGEAR account you want to provide access to, select what type of permission you are granting, and click Invite.
- If the invitee does not have a MyNETGEAR account, the invitee receives an email invitation with instructions for creating an account.

The user joins ReadyCLOUD and receives an email notification that you invited them to access your share. - If the invitee already has a MyNETGEAR account, the user receives an email message informing them that you invited them to access your share.
- If the invitee does not have a MyNETGEAR account, the invitee receives an email invitation with instructions for creating an account.
- Click OK to acknowledge.
To configure share access for ReadyCLOUD users:
You must use the ReadyCLOUD portal for this task.
- Visit the ReadyCLOUD portal at https://readycloud.netgear.com.
- Log in with your MyNETGEAR account.
- Select the share you want to manage on the left side of the screen and click
next to the list of shared users.
- Select the appropriate access level:
- If you want users to be able to view and download files from your ReadyNAS storage system, but not to modify them, select Read Only.
- If you want users to be able to add, change, and delete files on your ReadyNAS storage system, select Read/Write.
To remove access of a user from a shared folder:
- Visit the ReadyCLOUD portal at https://readycloud.netgear.com.
- Log in with your MyNETGEAR account.
- Select the share you want to manage on the left side of the screen.
- Click the
to remove a user from the share.

For more information about ReadyCLOUD, visit ReadyCLOUD FAQ