If you occasionally reconfigure your NETGEAR router for a specific purpose or device and want to quickly restore a certain configuration, you can back up your settings to a file and restore them as needed.
The Backup Settings option in the router web interface allows you to save a file containing all your router’s configuration settings to a file on your computer. You can then load that file to restore those settings instead of manually reconfiguring them.
To back up or restore the settings configured on your NETGEAR router:
- Launch a web browser from a computer that is connected to your router's network.
- Enter routerlogin.net.
A login window displays. - Enter your user name and password.
The user name is admin. The password is the one that you specified the first time that you logged in. The user name and password are case-sensitive. - The BASIC Home page or Dashboard displays.
- Select Advanced > Administration > Backup Settings.
For Nighthawk Pro Gaming routers, select Settings > Administration > Backup Settings.
The Backup Settings page displays. - Back up or restore your settings:
- To back up your settings, click Back Up.
Your settings are saved to your computer in a .cfg file. - To restore your settings:
- Click Browse and select the .cfg file that you previously backed up.
- Click Restore.
A dialog box appears notifying you that your current settings will be erased. - Click OK.
Your router reboots with your previously configured settings.
- To back up your settings, click Back Up.
If your backed up settings are configured with a different wireless network name (SSID) or password than the current settings, you might need to reconnect your WiFi devices to your router after restoring your old settings.
For more information: